Team Category: Advisors

Barney Graham, PhD

The former deputy director of the NIAID Vaccine Research Center, Dr. Graham is an immunologist, virologist, and clinical trials physician with an extensive background in basic and translational research applied to vaccine development. He is best known for his research on respiratory syncytial virus (RSV), influenza, coronaviruses, HIV, and other emerging viral diseases.

Until his retirement last year, Dr. Graham was the chief of the Viral Pathogenesis Laboratory and Translational Science Core. He was named one of the world’s 100 most influential individuals and one of the Heroes of the Year in 2021 by Time magazine for his role in developing the COVID-19 vaccine. He was also recognized as the Federal Employee of the Year by the Partnership for Public Service.

Dr. Graham is an author on more than 500 scientific publications and a thought leader on emerging viral diseases and pandemic preparedness. He was involved in the advanced evaluation of vaccines and monoclonal antibodies for HIV, Ebola, and Chikungunya. He also developed novel vaccines for RSV, influenza, Zika, paramyxoviruses, and coronaviruses including the first COVID-19 vaccine and monoclonal antibody to enter clinical testing and that subsequently achieved Emergency Use Authorization and licensure.

Dr. Graham obtained his MD from the University of Kansas School of Medicine, and his PhD in Microbiology & Immunology at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, where he rose to the rank of Professor of Medicine with a joint appointment in the Department of Microbiology & Immunology. He is the recipient of numerous international awards and accolades for his contributions to research.

Emmanuel Hanon, PhD

Emmanuel Hanon’s 20-year career at GlaxoSmithKline included 7 years as the GSK Vaccines’ senior vice president and head of R&D. As a virologist and immunologist, he made critical contributions to next-generation adjuvants and their inclusion in successful vaccines for pandemic influenza, malaria, and shingles. He currently serves as head of R&D for Viome, a precision medicine company focusing on chronic disorders. Dr. Hanon’s experience in vaccinology and product development will be critical in helping GreenLight accelerate its development programs.

Diane E. Griffin, PhD

At Johns Hopkins UniversityDiane Griffin is the Distinguished Service Professor, a professor of Medicine and Neurology at the School of Medicine, and the W. Harry Feinstone professor at the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology at the Bloomberg School of Public Health. She has also been vice president of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences since 2013. Professor Griffin brings the experience of a distinguished career to facilitate the R&D work of GreenLight, especially her focus on pathogenesis of acute RNA virus infections and the role of the immune response in virus clearance, protection from infection, and mechanisms of vaccine-induced protection.

Dr. Ted Ashburn

Dr. Theodore (Ted) Ashburn is the President and CEO of Oncorus, Inc., a viral immunotherapies company focused on driving innovation to transform outcomes for cancer patients.

Prior to joining Oncorus, Dr. Ashburn served as Head of Oncology Development at Moderna Therapeutics, Inc. He has held key leadership roles of increasing responsibility in preclinical and clinical development, business development, product strategy, manufacturing and operations at multiple emerging biotechnology, as well as established pharmaceutical companies including Sanofi Oncology and Genzyme. He started his career at Pfizer, Inc. He received his B.S. in chemistry and computer science from Ball State University, his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and his M.D. from Harvard Medical School.

Luc Debruyne

Mr. Luc Debruyne is a former Corporate Executive Team member of GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) where, over the course of a 27-year career, he rose to President of Global Vaccines..

He established GSK as the #1 Vaccines company worldwide, leading the launch of several successful vaccines including Shingrix, for shingles, and expanded the company’s US presence. Broad functional leadership experience includes research and development (R&D), commercial, manufacturing and quality operations. He currently is an active contributor in the global health arena and promotes sustainable business practices. He is a graduate of the University of Leuven (KULeuven – Belgium).

Dr. Mark Dybul

Dr. Mark Dybul is a professor in Georgetown University’s Department of Medicine and the co-director of their Center for Global Health Practice and Impact.

He has deep expertise in infectious disease and from 2012-2017 he served as Executive Director of the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria. Prior to that he was appointed the U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator by then President George W. Bush, overseeing the implementation of the President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR). He holds an A.B. and M.D. from Georgetown University.

Dr. Drew Weissman

Dr. Drew Weissman is a professor of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania’s Perelman School of Medicine.

Dr. Weissman co-discovered the ability of modified nucleosides in RNA to suppress activation of innate immune sensors and increase the translation of mRNA containing certain modified nucleosides. Dr. Weissman’s laboratory focuses on the study of RNA and innate immune system biology and the application of these findings to vaccine research, protein therapeutics, and gene therapy. He is also a member of The American Association of Immunologists, the American Federation for Clinical Research, and the Association of American Physicians. He received his graduate degrees from Boston University School of Medicine.